Boston Concerts
      Kirkby & Lindberg
      Solamente Naturali
      Anne Sofie von Otter
      BEMF Chamber Opera Series
      The Tallis Scholars
      O'Dette & McFarlane
      Orlando Consort
      Jordi Savall
      Koopman & Mathot
      Les Arts Florissants

    New York Concerts
    Past Seasons

Milos ValentSolamente Naturali

Friday, October 16, 2015, 8pm
First Church in Cambridge, Congregational

Musica Globus: 17th- and 18th-century Folk and Dance Music from Middle Europe

A favorite of audiences and critics alike for their appearances at our biennial Festivals, the energetic and dynamic players of Solamente Naturali are back by popular demand! Celebrating their 20th anniversary and under the leadership of world-renowned violinist Miloš Valent, this ensemble melds classical and folk traditions like no other in performances bursting with rhythmic virtuosity and vibrant enthusiasm. Join in the toe-tapping fun with traditional Polish and Slovak dances, pieces by Telemann based on Middle European melodies, and more.

Pre-Concert Talk at 7pm

“Full of imagination and a rugged, folk-infused virtuosity.”
—The Boston Globe

back to top


Solamente Naturali perform a selection from their "Musica Globus" program live at the Sendesaal Radio Bremen in 2012.

back to top


Miloš Valent, violin, viola & voice; Jan Rokyta, cimbalom, recorders, duduk, clarinet & voice; Dagmar Valentová, violin & voice; Peter Vrbinčík, viola & voice; Juraj Kováč, violoncello & voice; Ján Krigovsky, double bass; Soma Dinyés, harpsichord, daf, gong & triangle

back to top


Musica Globus
Telemann: Polish dances from the Rostock manuscript
Selections from the Anna Szirmay-Keczer collection of dances, 1730
Saltus Hungaricus from the “Saltus Hungarici” collection, 18th-century
Verbung per il Violino, No. 32, 33 from the Pestini collection, 18th-century
Anonymous: Unrischr for harpsichord
Telemann: Les Moscovites; L’Esperance de Mississipi
A new Hornpipe from The Division Violin, 1694
Matteis: Scotch humour
Selections from the Uhorovec collection, 1730
Anonymous: Aria Hannaco
Hirschmentzel: Moravica, Alia illepida, from Orpheus pro rusticus
Telemann: Les Janissaires
Anonymous: En Kitzvo
Telemann: Les Turcs

back to top